About me

My name is Astrid, I’m 45 years old, Danish, living with my husband Mads and our two wonderful girls Ronja and Frida (ages 16 years and 13 years, respectively) just south of Køge, Denmark in a little town called Herfølge.

This blog is about all the things that fill my life and my heart. My family, friends, sewing, sailing, gardening (though I must admit, I’m not much of a gardener – mostly a garden-enjoyer), and the renovation of our house.

We own a house from 1912, which we have been renovating ourselves since we moved in – and we still find stuff that needs doing here and there.

When the girls were younger, I used to love sewing children’s clothes, for which I used mostly the patterns from Ottobre Design (you can read a bit more about that here) and Onion – along with lots and lots of tutorials from generous bloggers out there. This blog came to be very much about sewing, mainly because I spent a lot of time doing it, but more recently I have focused increasingly on our travels.

Frida, our youngest daughter was born with a cleft palate. This means that she had surgery when she was 18 months old to have the cleft closed, and again at 5 years for a pharyngeal flap procedure. A few other things as well have been different for Frida than for other kids. During the first 10 years of her life we paid regular visits to a speech therapist to help Frida with her speech, but now – except for a minor round of teeth correcting – she is done with that.


Besides this, I just write about what’s going on in all of our lives – big and small!

I love to have feedback so that I know who you are, and what you like – or dislike – about my blog, so please, leave me a comment or use the contact form if you feel like it – it will be greatly appreciated!

Hope you’ll enjoy!


Oh, and by the way – if you have questions, or if there’s anything I can do to help – please use the contact form below to get in touch.

Thanks! 🙂


  1. Marie Fourie says:

    Hi there. I’m Marie and live on a farm in the Free State Province of South Africa. Didn’t always live on a farm but after my husband was medically boarded we moved from the Kwa-Zulu Natal South Coast to set up a small farming enterprise. That was fifteen years ago and after much manual work and rearing sheep and cattle, I’m back to my sewing machine permanently which was only a temporary haven the last 15 years. I love the pattern of the drawstring pants but have no idea where to find it in South Africa. Am willing(and yes begging) to forward money for a copy of the pattern. Is this possible?
    Warm regards from a sunny day with winter fast shedding the last of the deciduous trees’ leaves.

A penny for your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
%d bloggers like this: